Driving Offense Point System

Driving is a privilege, not a right. If you break traffic laws, your driving privileges could be suspended or revoked resulting in fines and even imprisonment. The seriousness of your violations – and resulting penalties – is tracked by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) using a point system.

Interestingly, there are no points assessed for a DWI conviction. However, most individuals who are charged with DWI are also issued additional charges which include points, such as reckless driving (5 points), careless driving (2 points) and other offenses.

If you are convicted of a moving violation, MVC will penalize you by adding points to your driving record. You will only get points on your record for moving violations – points are not assessed for parking and other violations. A table is provided for more information on the number of points earned for specific violations.

Click here for the State of New Jersey – Motor Vehicle Comission’s NJSA point schedule

How do points affect you?

  • If you get six or more points within three years on your current driving record, you will be assessed a surcharge.
  • If you get 12 or more points on your current driving record, your license will be suspended. You will receive a notice of scheduled suspension by mail.
  • Getting points on your license may also increase your insurance rates. Contact your insurance agent for details.

Violations committed in other states

Even though you are a New Jersey driver, you can still acquire points and penalties for violations committed in other states. New Jersey is a member of two compacts that enforce this policy.

The Driver License Compact

  • Consists of 45 states and the District of Columbia. States not included are Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee and Wisconsin
  • Members in this compact exchange all violation information. Out-of-state moving violations are worth two points. For example, if you receive a speeding ticket in Florida, you will get two points on your New Jersey driving record for that violation

The Nonresident Violator Compact

  • Consists of 44 states and the District of Columbia. States not included are Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon and Wisconsin
  • Assures nonresident motorists the same rights and privileges as residents
  • Nonresident drivers have due process protection and cannot be detained out-of-state
  • Requires drivers to fulfill the terms of traffic citations received in member states or face the possibility of license suspension in their home state
  • Does not apply to parking or standing violations, highway weight limit violations and violations of Hazmat transportation laws